Most effective paint stripper yet.

Hi guys. Stripping paint off old models has always been a pain in the ass for me.  To the point where for my space marines in ended up just priming straight over the old coat.

But recently i got a cooked up can of GW white primer that caked thickly all over my centurions. Painting over that would have just been pointless.

I have tried the dettol method which is awful, as well as various household products. Most methods require leaving models soaking for hours etc.

Then I was talking to Ben T at a painting night at my local game store and he filled me in on how he does It.

He simply dumps the models in a container filled with this:

image

Mr hobby paint thinner. I mean, duh. Not sure why i never bothered to try using thinner before. 

So u bought the above bottle doing my lunch break at work for about 17 bucks and couldn’t wait to get home and try it.

Quickly made the centurions their bath and dumped the models in.

At first nothing happened, but as soon as i picked one up the paint came off right in my hands.

I quickly got to work with my toothbrush and within a matter of minutes the centurions were almost good as new.

image

After that I did one more round of scrubbing with soap and water, dried and they were good to go.  Amazing.

So if you can get this stuff is highly recommend it.

To recap:

1) buy Mr hobby paint thinner (not sure about other brands)
2) drop your models in for a few minutes.
3) pick them out (wear gloves for this) and scrub down under running water with an old toothbrush
4) let dry
5) scrub down with soap and water using old toothbrush
6) let dry.
7) profit.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Painting Projects
8 comments on “Most effective paint stripper yet.
  1. dezzoblog says:

    i guess $17 is worth it for emergencies.

    for me i simply make sure that i do not fuck up the priming process.

Leave a Reply

TML: Shift by Shift

Making sense of the 'eye test'

razzaminipainting

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Bretonnia

Blog about Bretonnia

A R Turner

Music Technology at its finest*.

Watching Paint Dry

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Arsies Studio, Miniature Painter

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Rich Erickson's Minis

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Tale of Painters

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

40k Hobby Blog

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Goatboy's 40k Extra Thoughts

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

A Gentleman's War

- Waging war like civilised, refined scholars

Faeit 212: Warhammer 40k News and Rumors

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Anything But Ones

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Narrating the Forging.

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

