Ultramarines Blue: My Guide

This is a guide on how to get my flavour of Ultramarines Blue. Now keep in mind, I’ve found this to be one of the most varied colours in 40k.

Everyone has their own method of achieving the colour they like, and all seem to have different taste.

For me, I wanted a very rich blue with a lot of depth and I wanted to stray slightly from the traditonal approach.

The result came out like this:

20140220_082845

It’s a bit of a lengthy process and there are probably easier ways to get the look you want, but hey. I’m happy with it.

Step 1:

This is the easiest step – after priming black, spray with Macragge blue. Barring that, you could make-do with painting a base coat of Ultramarines blue (vallejo).

The result looks like this:

20140218_080715

 

Step 2: Wash with a dark wash.

I used Army Painter Dark Tone, but you can use GW Nuln Oil if you want. Because I stay in a humid climate, I find i get problems with the GW inks fogging up.  You can see how it looks in the picture of the Sergeant below.

20140218_082110

 

Step 3: Layer up the Blue

In this step, your goal is to apply a nice, smooth coat of Ultramarine Blue (Vallejo Ultramarine Blue is my choice). Keep in mind, a key to this is to leave a space where there would be shadows, so that some of the dark undercoat shows through. It should look something like below. You can see especially on the shoulderpads, a very thin line of dark blue showing through between the white ridge on the pad and the regular blue of the pad itself.

20140219_203906

 

Step 4: Edge Highlight

This is just to be done on the very key edges. I don’t edge highlight the entire model. Focus on the edges that would normally catch light. I use Vallejo Sky Blue. Normally you will be very careful to edge highlight, but because you will be inking over later, you can have a little leeway and don’t need to be SO perfect. Anyway, below is an example focus on the jump pack.

20140219_224809

Step 5: Area Highlight

The marines have a lot of curved areas that won’t really catch light as much as the edges. For example, the legs curving, or the shoulderpad. So rather than use full sky blue, i use a 1.5:1 mix of sky blue and ultramarines blue for this part.  Here is how it looks:

20140219_234820

 

Step 6: Ink

Finally, apply a layer of Vallejo Blue Ink. Try to keep it even. Enough blue so that your highlights show through, but still to give that deep, rich blue look. It can be a bit tricky to get it even. You can see the final result of my Ultramarine Blue below:

 

20140220_082924 20140220_082845

 

Hope you found this guide useful. Either to use as your recipe, or if the steps can be used to create your own recipe for Ultramarine Blue.

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Painting Projects, Ultramarines
2 comments on “Ultramarines Blue: My Guide
  1. 40kterminatus says:

    Nice guide.

Leave a Reply

TML: Shift by Shift

Making sense of the 'eye test'

razzaminipainting

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Bretonnia

Blog about Bretonnia

A R Turner

Music Technology at its finest*.

Watching Paint Dry

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Arsies Studio, Miniature Painter

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Rich Erickson's Minis

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Tale of Painters

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

40k Hobby Blog

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Goatboy's 40k Extra Thoughts

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

A Gentleman's War

- Waging war like civilised, refined scholars

Faeit 212: Warhammer 40k News and Rumors

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Anything But Ones

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

Narrating the Forging.

The tale of my journey in the hobby.

